According to the current constitution of the Republic of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe has  15 recognised languages namely Chewa, Chibarwe, English, Kalanga, Koisan, Nambya, Ndau, Ndebele, Shangani, Shona, Sign Language, Sotho, Tonga, Tswana, Venda and  Xhosa.


Shona is the majority language and is believed to be spoken by more than two thirds of the Zimbabwean population. Shona further branches into Karanga (different from above mentioned Kalanga), Korekore( mainly spoken in Hurungwe, Guruve, Mhangura, Dande, Mt Darwin), Manyika, Ndau ( mainly spoken in Chipinge), Shangwe (spoken in Gokwe) and Zezuru(mainly spoken in Marondera, Murehwa, Mhondoro, Zvimba).

The second major language in Zimbabwe is Ndebele or Sindebele, mainly spoken in Matebeleland. English is Zimbabwe’s official language. I’m sure you are aware Zimbabwe was a British colony.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *